Falsities
From ILB
If you think you've found something new, and it isn't on the main ilovebees site (http://www.ilovebees.com), Dana's blog (http://ilovebees.blogspot.com), or e-mail directly from Dana or The Sleeping Princess, check here first!
| Table of contents |
Copycat sites
Sites that put up countdown timers similar to SPDR's
The Fridge Owl (http://thefridgeowl.com)
- Confirmed hoax by creator on unforum (http://forums.unfiction.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=62720#62720) on August 26
University of Amsterdam (http://www.science.uva.nl)
RE Technologies (http://retechnologies.org/news.php)
neotaku (http://neotaku.com/)
Hoax sites
Sites trying to look like part of the ARG
ihatebees (http://ihatebees.com)
hojo.tk (http://www.hojo.tk/)
- Confirmed hoax by creator on livejournal (http://_hojo.livejournal.com/) on August 2
CAPitALLism.org (http://www.capitallism.org/)
Xydexx.com (http://www.xydexx.com)
- Confirmed hoax by acquaintance of creator on July 31
purevolume.com (http://www.purevolume.com/themanwhobuiltdrvaughnerslaboratory)
Honorable mention:
- ilovebeer (http://www.ilovebeer.org), which is actually a brilliant parody site that Dana herself acknowledged in her blog (http://ilovebees.blogspot.com/2004/08/being-persuaded-to-come-back.html).
- saravella blog (http://www.saravella.blogspot.com/), which is not a hoax but a sort of homage to ILB. Our blogger, Sarah Kiddo, is at the center of a mystery regarding the "accidental" death of her grandmother, Cassandra. Notably, her grandmother used to call Sarah the Sleeping Princess, plus Sarah seems to have an Aunt Marge who lives in California and a cousin who has been on a tour of China...
Coattail sites
Sites that tried to capitalize on ILB's popularity in other ways
ilovebees shop at CafePress (http://www.cafepress.com/ilovebees)
i_love_bees shop at CafePress (http://www.cafepress.com/i_love_bees)
ilovepees (http://www.ilovepees.com)
- NSFW site that "UrMouth" spamvertised on Dana's blog
drdrater.com (http://www.drdrater.com)
- Confirmed no connection by creator on August 29; in addition, site tries to download trojan viruses, and telephone number listed under "Contact Me" leaves you on hold and charges $2.99 per minute
Hoax messages
People pretending to be part of ILB -- always remember to check the headers on incoming e-mail!
Pretty much ANYONE posting comments to Dana's blog
AIM user UnrippedZues77
honey777@hotmail.com
777@ilovebees.com
ilovebees@hotmail.com
danatwing@yahoo.com
danabee777@hotmail.com
Post on Bungie forum (http://forums.bungie.org/halo/archive15.pl?read=456787) supposedly from ladybee777@hotmail.com
Sarah's blog (http://isafriendindeed.blogspot.com)
- Confirmed hoax by creator (http://isafriendindeed.blogspot.com/2004/09/sorry-all.html) on September 7
![[Main Page]](/stylesheets/images/wiki.png)